Posted on June 28, 2017

0


The BEarded Math Man is posting some videos and … oh, Sal Khan’s got nothin’ on him : )   “Binomial reproduction” is one approach to factoring, with the analogy to “who’s the father?”  to figure out “where did this come from?”   If I were an adolescent I’d be luvvin’ it.   (Now, it does make demands on working memory and fluency that mean adaptations would have to be made for some folks… but … it’s funny.)    His “I’m going to explain factoring by guess and check for whatever kind of leading coefficient while I’m driving to Starbucks” is pretty funny, too (and … since he never changes speed and the background doesn’t change… it’s not the stuff of a driver’s ed movie but does present as normal manipulating numbers in your head while getting places…)

Yes.   I need to get **my** website to a place where visiting it is useful and where I can embellish it.   Right now it’s like my basement.

I followed “OpenCon” on twitter, though it’s for students and “early career” people.  We wouldn’t want to be *open,* would we?

And while I’m ranting, this little quote from folks using OER 

As with any new project, there were snags and confusion in the rollout of some of the colleges’ initiatives. For instance, the Glendale chemistry team considered launching its OER materials with a small pilot consisting of one course section, but decided against it because the instructors didn’t want to withhold the materials from some students. This meant that bugs and other technical glitches were not weeded out ahead of full implementation.

“About every week we found coding errors or typos in the online homework and that led to frustration for faculty and students,” said Gregg. “But through that process we’ve been able to tighten it up, and the spring semester went very smoothly.”

How nice a process.  Did all the students succeed?  Or did some of them drop or fail because of the “frustration”?     It’s a tough call and I don’t know how I’d flop if I were the decision maker, but … I at least *hope* there were options for students who just might not want to be your beta tester, but want to learn from materials you could count on being right when they said they were right.

Got a student doing a knowledge check who doesn’t at all like the idea of just getting something wrong and going back to it later.    I think some things don’t blend well:  that “growth mindset” idea that “mistakes grow your brain” and … the ALEKS ‘knowledge check’ where no, you don’t get to see what your  mistakes were.

 

 

 

 

