Commit :)

Posted on October 8, 2016

0


I’m at the part where it’s time to shift from “oh! the potential!” to “LEt’s start making the deliverable.”

I’m in Canvas building a quiz question.   ACCESSIBILITY.    Cognitive accessibility:   need that “onboarding” thing per Nir Eyal’s book so the intro is short and … I think optional.   Nobody reads the first chapter of the math book, right?

So:   INtro, Parts and wholes… and then jump into addition.   REmembering that whie we’ve had lots of success with Modumath so I’m emulating it big time, that it just says knowing facts is important; that isn’t built into it.

Yesterday mathisfun.com ‘s “Math Trainer” did its magic for some of the ni nes tables for a student.   However, in hindsight, we should have started w/ the 2’s.   Anyway, www.mathisfun.com multiplication trainer  has several awesome features:   you have a timer, but if you don’t get it, it just simply gives you the answer and then you get to type it in when you’re ready.   (You can also set the timer to 1 day.)   Then… you’ll get the same fact two questions later.   I don’t know the exact code (I think about that stuff on the commute)…

Just because I’m distractible doesn’t mean I

Anyway, I *don’t* know what effect the ‘quiz’ format will  have on ADA type accessibility.   I’ll have my little posters w/ what I’ve got to look for (now where’s that link???)   like not having tiny little radio buttons…

So it’s about INtro, parts and wholes, then adding, with lots of interactives to learn it, and then “what equals means.”   And that could take ’til NOvember.

Posted in: math literacy, MOOC