Backing up …

Posted on February 6, 2016

0


… the files, which is a step forward.  The Working Thing with title “Jan29” is now on Ay-soos, the GREENECK and the Transcend and the Camtasia flash drives and now the cloud knows where they are.

Since my next Thing TO Figure Out is how to manage versions of things in GitHub, it’ll soon be backed up “in the cloud,” too.

And 20 miles on the Trek later (in lieu of riding out and buying another bike, which might happen w/ next paycheck, but “my working fleet is down to 3 1/2 ”  (the Gazelle’s frame may or may not be compromised) and “it fits!and it’s fun!”  … is that justification?  Or should I first get that Schwinn fully working again?

… 20 miles on the Trek yielded not much on “the pitch” which is the main project for the

MITx: 11.132x Design and Development of Educational Technology course , but hte May Faculty Summer Institute started laying out before me. 

Fostering Growth Mindset in the most struggling math students… using “part/whole” teaching.

I’d start with (after intro) DOrothea Steinke’s quick assessment — the putting numbers on a number line.   I’d have them do it and then talk to neighbors and share ideas to make theirs better.   (When this crossed my mind I thought “whew!!! I actually thought of something that wasn’t me talking!)    THen I’d show the different stages of learning shown wiht some samples… and broach the idea that I could have presented it as a “pre-test” and then shown them the right answer, and how psychologically different that experience is.

I’d mention the other good ways to assess math concepts like Marilyn Burns’ https://mathreasoninginventory.com/

I’d talk about “cognitive frontloading” and “Cognitive resonance” — how my students are pretty much accustomed to being in a state of cognitive dissonance and simply haven’t had a lot of experience with it being resolved, so they need to be taught what cognitive resonance is and what it looks and feels like (and not to run away from the dissonance).

The rest of the prez would be Stuff From Transitions:   the concept of “part whole,” and then I might show (if given permission, even if it’s not required) Chris Woodin’s neat little video of https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vTyk1xozJ4 “dynamic addition and subtraction.”

And I wonder how hard it would be to make a gross-motor manipulative that would look like that with a “whole” and then the two “parts” with a slider to change to show that one part is teh whole minus the other part.

I’d show how this applies to subtraction — and that students can get from “take away” to “misisng addend” and then go back to the math reasoning inventory inclusion of something like 1000 – 997  and learning that you can also count up to the whole (I’m recalling student last week who struggled with taking 8 away from nine not for math but for reading).   I’d then show how this is the logic behind scary word problems like ‘matt is 5 years older than Methuselah, and the sum of their ages is 200’  and the visual representation of that.

Then (or maybe earlier) I’d talk about the big fat principles I learned from Orton-Gillingham:   you don’t teach confusing things on top of each other (so you just don’t leap from adding integers to subtracting them); you include review and practice of everything, thank you, and oh!  you do the concrete to visual to language with everything, etc… and apply that to the F word: fractions, and take from the Transitions book about doing lots and lots of problems that are 4/4 + x/x = ?   and what (a+b)/(a+b) is…. rather than dumping “and now add 17/51 and 4/9, please!”  on them.

Then onto integers … and I would definitely borrow the “hot and cold” metaphor per Chris Woodin https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLzRF-ey3LE (“taking away ice cubes is going to make things warmer”).

Oh, and formulae … giving them meaning… the Cheezits to show area and using a pencil to help w/ the area/perimeter of irregular shapes… tell the story of students who couldn’t show me what perimeter meant; they just pointed at the numbers.

And… then it was time to be home… I’ll have to ponder how long the above would take.  I mean, we could maybe even *make* the manipulative I described from some stiff paper…

Alas, I’ll have to figure out for the app how to actually film me using it.  WIth camtasia open, no, the emulator was not going to work.  Too much demand on the computer.

And somehow I’ll work in OER into the thing too 😉

