Instructional design

Posted on January 29, 2016

0


 

Just watched this movie about “Research-based principles for multimedia learning.”  I got lots of great info from it, but several times I wished the comments section were open because, oh my, YOUR IVORY TOWER IS SHOWING.   (Of course, in your ivory tower, you don’t care about things like comments!)

He blithely states that from their research, you shouldn’t have text *and* audio; that narration and visuals are the best combination.

He completely ignores the fact that out here in the real world, there’s this thing called “accessibility.”  When somebody asks about a person who’s hard of hearing, he say that yes, of course, there are “boundary conditions” and that for that person…
… well, kind sir, the fact is that out here in the real world, our materials need to be accessible.   That should have been acknowledged instead of dismissed — even the language is putting people with disabilities out at the “boundary,” on the fringes.

To be a professional in instructional design, movie from 2014, and not mention Universal Design (when prompted with mentioning people with disabilities)?  Ivory tower…

I liked seeing and hearing that breaking things down and having the user click “continue” made things more effective, since that’s what I figured I could do to adapt powerpoints to the web.

Okay, I liked seeing the assorted research and there was tons of it 🙂  He also speculated enough about why things were they way they were with specifics from research so that I could decide whether it would apply to my kinds of tasks.   His assertion that narration and graphics is better than text and graphics because, it being a fast-paced presentation where you couldn’t go back over anything, you could miss something important visually while reading text…. that made sense.     Since I have no intention of making students plow through something quickly and not have a chance to go back over it, I feel less obligated to remove the text.

Someone asked if people who were given a chance to choose modality woudl pick the right one; he said prob’ly not — that most people would probably choose the “narration and text” vs. narration, especially novice learners.   I suspect that’s valid…

 

 

 

Posted in: Uncategorized