Blended LEarning, Chapter Two

Posted on March 9, 2015

0


This chapter had its ups and downs.

I really appreciate the whole concept of focusing on interactions, since I do tend to focus on Content, Content, Content.

However, it still suffers from Educationalese .

Yes, I”m familiar witht he “hole in the wall” experiment.   Yes, it’s fascinating that the kids who found the computers learned to browse the web and draw and do things on the computer.

To thus **conclude** that “children do not require direct instruction to acquire basic computer literacy skills”  flies in the face of reason.

Any where else in the flogging universe, for you to make a grand conclusion about “children,” you can’t have a self-selecting little group in one instance the foundation for your conclusion.

HOw many children did *not* browse the web and draw?   Why? Why not?

You know that whole thing about learning being a social thing?   What were the social necessities to be in that “in group” that was doing the fun stuff?

And I’m sorry, but the gaming community and that ‘self-taught’ computer programming community are also very self-selecting and can be very exclusive.   Do I want to build educational experiences based on a culture like that? No thank you.

Yes, I tend to write more when things don’t make sense to me… I appreciate the idea that students should have lots of different expectations for expression — and then let ’em choose.   I also appreciate that the assignments should be set up with clear expectations so that people who are not so experienced and/or comfortable wiht public expression of thought know what they have to do.   And yes, examples, examples, examples!!!

Posted in: Uncategorized