How do you get to Carnegie Hall?

Posted on December 5, 2014

0


Practice, eh?

Yesterday a non-regular student was working on a paper and was impressed with the way I could make little rephrasing or rewording suggestions.  I informed him that had he not been a good enough writer, I would not have been able to understand his intent.

I realize that it would behoove me to duly note that the way you get good at something is practice.

I also realized that yes, it’s much more satisfying to “practice” something if you’re getting it mostly right and getting compliments for it.

Do we set up our students’ practice for that?

I know we do sometimes.   I know the Transitions teacher has students who do not have to take the final (it’s a pass-fail course, and their averages are such that they would pass with a zero)… but… no kidding, they want to take it anyway.

Regardless of the good reasons they might have for doing that, if it were painful they wouldn’t do it.

Do I need to mention that with students at this level, *******IT TAKES A LOT ***** to make it so math isn’t painful.

Just sayin’ that students *and* teachers are doing things RIGHT.

((That’s what I want to build into my online exercises — recognizing that there’s a mess of affective stuff involved, too.   The teacher in question is awfully good at building morale and confidence…)

… … and/but … there is a noisome (SAT word for stinky and redolent) cloud in the atmosphere. I am reminded of when I was teaching in middle school and a teacher was arrested for molesting students.   I’d read about such things in the papers and … it doesn’t compare to the horror and recoiling when it is At Your School.   How could I stand in front of students and expect their trust?   How could I facilitate healing and growth?  Eric Gardner, Kiwane Carrington, Michael Brown,    …I feel like I’m wearing uniform and badge of The Oppressive Regime, especially when the student arriving has already been through a bit of runaround (already has bachelor’s degree, but needs to take math assessment)… and while I couldn’t answer his adminisitrative questions (like how well he had to do) I could tell him … no, he didn’t have to sign up for anything; he could just come in and use our resources (Modumath and me)… and that people who’d done so had placed well enough to do whatever they wished.

With a little practice, he should do fine.

Now back to the app and camtasia stuff, which I have not looked at all week b/c it’s the last week of classes (but now that it’s Friday afternoon, it’s QUIET..)

Posted in: Uncategorized