Decimated Decimals

Posted on June 27, 2014

0


Hmmm… while I’m working on my Tone of Voice, I should prob’ly do the same for the tone of my digital communications.

A poster plopped onto Facebook with pictures of foods and their prices; the salad was $4.99 and a burger and a coke were each labeled as “.99” cents.

I felt compelled to contact the source and let ’em know of that little error and I got mansplained — nice of me to have “missed the point” of the poster and focus on the decimals.  I replied that clearly feelings had been hurt … and that the poster and response informed me that their concern was hype and spin, not truth…  it reminds me of certain educational resources that gosh, why should they be **perfect** and we should just stop being haters…

Perhaps next long bike ride I’ll ponder feedback per http://rationalexpressions.blogspot.com/2014/06/questioning-wiggins-definition-of.html which considers the relationship between “feedback” and “evaluation.”   My initial email about the decimal was a straight-out “you said .99cents which would be less than a penny.”   Clearly this was interpreted as An Evil Evaluation.

… but enough of that.   Time to put in the Daily HOur of AppWork… and to strive to figure out a way to get to it more efficiently..  update:   50 minutes adn I have level 1 and 2 and 3 … but now I have to figure out how to get ’em to change levels…

Posted in: math