Checkin’ out another MOOC

Posted on June 4, 2014

0


In full summer “dilly dally” mode, I googled ‘”developmental math” MOOC ‘  with the intention of doing a quick ‘what I’d like to try for one’ proposal. I’m hoping to find those articles about how disappointing the results were…

… but I’ve found several of them and so I’ve signed up for one.   Udacity and folks from Wake Technical Community College are going to teach me integers and stuff.

I like the intro that suggests I have a notebook, suggests how much to do each week (but I’m thinking that the voice talking at me is “lecture in a box”).

So now we’re going to talk about integers, and I see a number line… and it’s marked off with -1, 0, and 1, with extra marks between each integer (e.g., at – 1/2) but they’re unlabeled.

First question is:   what does a good number line have… and the “Right” answer is all of the things checked:   Arrows at each end, zero, marks to indicate scale, and positive & negative direction.

Welp, my pickiness rises.   Yes, for an intro to negative integers you need those but… a:  I have never, ever seen a number line without a “positive and negative direction”  and b:  sometimes my number line might just be positive or negative, depending on what I was trying to show.

Still in the “well, that’s not exactly how I would have done it but no big deal” category, though, especially since there’s no penalty for a ‘wrong’ answer; you just keep clicking… except that you can’t continue until you get it right.  (On the other hand, you *can* go out and navigate to other parts of the course — but I’m not sure I would know that.)

I like the explanation of what the arrows mean, and explaining what “infinity” means, except that I’m expected to “remember” when she asked what I thought infinity meant… and … that must be in some other class. Still, no big deal.

Okay, in the *next* session, I’m told that I *don’t* need the zero, but that it’s nice.   Yellow ding.

I was ready to big ding with the explanation of “bank balance” adding integers, but after I try to answer, it uses a number line to show it. However, I simply *can’t* proceed until I get the right answer (or, at least, 10 incorrect attempts get the same “it’s wrong.”)  Why not explain *before* the questions?  If this were face to face and I were asking concept building questions, I could understand asking instead of telling… hmm… sounds like a separate post to consider 😉

This is where I think the Curatr setup would be a significant improvement.   It is set up so that your current “level” in the course is a circle, and what you’ve already done is in a larger concentric circle around it.  *You* get to pick which item from that list to engage with (in the Designing for Data course, it’s usually a video or a research pdf or a blog kind of thing, and not particularly interactive except for discussion).

Okay, I skipped forward to a fraction quiz so I can go back to my original plan… and what I *like* is that when people post questions, they get answered, and quickly.

http://www.carynews.com/2014/05/27/3890778/wake-techs-free-online-algebra.html  says that the course doesn’t have “discussion leaders” … but the course I’ve landed in seems to.   I can thumbs-up or thumbs-down things, and I think I can get approval ratings and what have you. (I haven’t yet figured out whether the people answering questions are staff/ teachers or not. I would imagine that it’s something that “peer tutors” or grad students could be assigned to do. Wouldn’t it be even cooler if they had other resources to click to?)

Posted in: Uncategorized