Yet another challenge problem…

Posted on May 30, 2014

1


Add one number to each column of the table so that it shows a function. Do not repeat an ordered pair that is in the table. Here are the numbers you may choose from: 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 18

x y
5 5
2 18
9 12
   
   

Let’s have fun and discuss this problem so that we can help each other grow mathematically. As you tell your students in the class, there are no dumb questions or answers. So please – chime in with your thoughts and responses.

Happy Discussing – I will post the answer to this problem the 2nd week of June since we may need additional time to talk about functions.

 

………………. welp…. I’ll cogitate on the ride home, but mainly I have to figure out what assumptions I can make (whether valid or not) that can short cut me to the answer. Kaching!   

It doesn’t say we have to figure otu the function.   It just can’t have two y’s for the same x. So… there are all kinds of correct answers. 

I did post that, and I do at least sort of hope it’s true.   

If there’s one accepted answer then I’m not sure what I want to do.   

Posted in: Uncategorized