Challenges

Posted on April 21, 2014

0


So, after doing the conceptual framework building of recursions… today we went over the text example that is essentially a template for our lab.  (edit in hindsight:  this was posted days after I typed it.  We had class on Thursday, not Easter Sunday ;))

Had he mentioned this, I would have spent considerably less time messing around with the other examples and googling and what have you… which is why I”m glad he didn’t. I’d be done now, knowing a lot less…

 

I did lean pretty hard on said template; in class I got tangled up and decided that yes, since I”d get up and do something if I were somewhere else, I’d just get up and do a lap around the second floor. Two minutes later when I came back in, teacher does hte rounds to see how we’re going, saying as he gets up what my water bottle had told me halfway ’round the hall circuit:   the book example is your template! use it!   I did, successfully… and therefrom used color changes to figure out how it works similarly to the Hanoi Tower, etc.

I “struggled” in both this assignment and the infamous “lab 5” with its chess board.  The relationships between panels and classes is, in my mind (not to be confused with “in my opinion” but specifically, how I organize the information), very very much like these recursion examples.   If we had a template, it would have been nice to know what it was.

I would humbly, but firmly, suggest that if we are not careful, our attempts to instill a “growth mindset” can facilitate it in students who already have *effective* tools for the struggle… but can undermine and even destroy it if a student is given a task to “struggle” with and uses other tools to fake it.

 

