Midterm done.

Posted on October 11, 2012

2


Reckon it’s a good thing to know what it’s like to be a student who feels like I’m not quite on the same page that I should be… I forgot to put my name on the paper, for starters…

Then there was the coding to fix.  For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out how to set things up to test it nicely.   I finally did… sort of… and I couldn’t remember the rules.   I mean, the way I fix my code is to find an example of what I’m doing, done right, and finding whatever my booboo was.   I’m pretty good at diagnosing where to look.   I am 90% sure I wasn’t calling my function at all but … since it wasn’t structured the way I would have structured it, I was clueless.   I did catch a mess of little typos.   But I turned it in feeling like I was on the flip side of those times when I’m watching a student and quietly despairing because s/he is missing something really, really vital that has been done forty-five times but somehow s/he hasn’t figured out that it was important.

But hey, we’ve got nothing to do this week so I can/should/WILL WILL WILL do some exploring on my own.

And … the only category this fits in is “cognitive dissonance,” which is what we need for those teachable moments.   Must figure out a way to make this a learnable moment, since I’m my teacher.

Posted in: Uncategorized