Wrong division

Posted on September 26, 2012

4


Today I had the non-pleasure of walking several students through long division. Hey, it’s In The Curriculum.

I do, absolutely, think there’s value in knowing how to do long division, and learning what the pieces of the process mean.

However, when a student doesn’t know single digit multiplication, much less division, and doesn’t know how to subtract if there’s borrowing, then that student is not learning how to do long division and that student is not learning what the pieces of the process mean.

I did have some success asking whether 8 cars would fit into five parking spaces, and other concrete connectors… but there’s got to be a better way.

The students had multiplication charts — when I provided them with charts that go up to 30, it made the task a bit easier.   I wish I could be sure  that they were processing the regular changes in number sizes…

However, I have happiness. My little ID works to get me into the quiet, quiet room upstairs, and I have the exercise files for the rather dated actionscript game that I’m playing with.   Lynda.com sent them my way in less than 24 hours, and I’m not a premium member; it’s an “aged” tutorial.  (I think I will let ’em know when I’m done with it ;))

Tagged: ,