De ja vu

Posted on May 3, 2012

2


Once again, I’ve told somebody online with some pretty good procedural math software that there’s a lot of research backing up what my experience tells me: that it would behoove us to develop more instructional materials that … wait for teh really, really complex phrase…

…. teach the concepts.

And, once again, I get this incredibly detailed, enthusiastic response all about how *their* procedural program is so vivid and engaging and well-planned that the students *have* to use the concepts.

Well, you don’t have to use the concepts if you don’t have them. I’ve watched students invent their own “concepts” — which only addes to the perception that math is convoluted and bizarre, because twisting the rules to fit their misconceptions is.

Considering the concept of an “online course” using books and a syllabus where we figure itout as we go. True project-based learning… because I”m rather enjoying _Design for How People LEarn_ which has arrived. (More on that later… )

Posted in: math, math anxiety